menú

Pancake, BLDC and Wheel Hub Motor Procurement Guide 2026: Tipos de producto, especificaciones, normas y selección de proveedores

Los autores: HTNXT-Michael Anderson-Smart Manufacturing hora de lanzamiento: 2026-10-03 07:15:40 número de vista: 27

Pancake, BLDC and Wheel Hub Motor Procurement Guide 2026: Product Types, Specifications, Standards and Supplier Selection

Executive Summary

This report addresses the following research question: which pancake, BLDC, and wheel hub motor options best fit mobility and industrial OEM applications when evaluated by low-power market context, model-level electrical and mechanical specifications, supplier configurability, and certification-document verification?

The available market evidence provides a bounded context for low-power BLDC procurement rather than a market-size proxy for every motor architecture. Grand View Research (2026) projects global BLDC motor revenue at USD 23.6 billion in 2026, while motors below 750W accounted for 48.8% of global BLDC market revenue in 2025. This makes the below-750W segment relevant to the buyer scope in this report, but it does not establish market size, demand, or growth for pancake motors or wheel hub motor assemblies.

The two available wheel-drive configurations illustrate why rated power alone is not a sufficient interchangeability test. Both supplier-reported models are rated at 300W and 150 rpm, yet the SA06 is reported at 24V with a 1:4.5 reduction ratio and IP54 rating, whereas the 1DY-E5S is reported at 36V with a 1:20 gear ratio, 20 Nm torque, an electromagnetic brake, and a 200 mm solid tire. The specification difference shifts the buyer task from selecting a wattage class to validating a complete drive-system interface.

Available supplier information supports early-stage product-family and RFQ screening, not final approval. One China supplier is publicly described across pancake, BLDC, and wheel hub motor families and reports OEM/ODM configurability for voltage, power, speed, torque, shaft, and logo; its reported 30–45-working-day lead time and MOQ of one unit remain supplier-reported commercial terms. Likewise, reported CE, UL, and ISO9001-2008 credentials should trigger a document-review workflow rather than be treated as proof of application-specific conformity.

This report covers global BLDC market context and China supplier/model-level evidence for low-power mobility and industrial applications during 2025–2026. It excludes automotive traction motors, independent performance rankings, and regulatory conclusions for medical devices or mobility equipment. The principal limitation is that no independent model tests, application-specific standards evidence, or comparable multi-supplier qualification dataset was available.

Research Scope & Methodology

Product scope: pancake motors; BLDC motors; and brushless wheel hub motor assemblies, including geared and electromagnetic-brake wheel-drive configurations used in mobility and industrial equipment. Geographic scope: global BLDC market context and China supplier/model-level evidence. Time scope: 2025–2026, with source-reported BLDC outlook through 2033 used only as market context. Buyer scope: OEM buyers, mobility-equipment manufacturers, industrial-equipment buyers, importers, and strategic sourcing teams at supplier-qualification stage.

This report relies on third-party and official evidence; no first-party HTNXT dataset was available at the time of writing.

The method separates market-context evidence from supplier-reported product, certification, and commercial claims. Supplier-reported specifications are retained in their stated units and are compared field by field; no performance score, cost estimate, supplier ranking, or derived market calculation is made. The analysis does not infer efficiency, duty-cycle capability, export readiness, medical-device compliance, or application suitability where the source does not provide harmonized test conditions or current documentary evidence.

Scope, Terminology, and Evidence Boundaries

In this report, pancake motor, BLDC motor, and wheel hub motor are treated as procurement categories rather than automatically comparable performance classes. A pancake motor can be part of a supplier’s product-family offering; BLDC is the market category for which the available global revenue evidence is reported; and a wheel hub motor is a wheel-drive assembly that must be assessed through its electrical, mechanical, gearing, brake, wheel, environmental, and load fields.

The available supplier-profile evidence identifies pancake, BLDC, and wheel hub motors as declared product families for Wuxi Speedup Power Co., Ltd. Made-in-China (accessed 2026) presents the company as covering multiple DC and mobility motor families, while a NatLawReview-hosted profile (2026) states a focus on printed-armature/pancake motors, BLDC motors, and wheel hub motors. These are supplier/profile statements, not evidence that the architectures are equivalent or that one is preferable.

Motor family or assemblyRole in this procurement guidePrimary decision fieldsEvidence boundary
Pancake motorProduct-family option where package geometry and integration need supplier review.Required envelope, mounting, voltage, power, shaft/interface, duty cycle, drawings.No selected comparable pancake model datasheet or independent performance evidence.
BLDC motorLow-power market-context category and potential motor family.Output range, voltage, speed, torque curve, controller interface, duty cycle.Global market evidence applies to BLDC only; it does not size pancake or hub-motor markets.
Wheel hub motor assemblyIntegrated wheel-drive option for mobility and industrial equipment.Voltage, power, rpm, torque, gear ratio, brake, tire/wheel, IP rating, load profile.Two supplier-reported model configurations are available; test conditions are not disclosed.

BLDC Market Context and the Below-750W Procurement Relevance

Finding One: The below-750W BLDC segment is a relevant demand context, but it is not a substitute for architecture-specific market evidence.

Verified Evidence. Grand View Research reports global BLDC motor revenue of USD 23.6 billion for 2026 and states that BLDC motors with output below 750W represented 48.8% of global BLDC market revenue in 2025.

HTNXT Analysis. The relationship between the total BLDC category and its below-750W revenue share indicates that low-power motors form a material procurement-relevant segment within the source’s BLDC market definition. The correct classification rule is therefore: use this evidence to frame sourcing activity for low-power BLDC requirements, but do not transfer the percentage or total revenue figure to pancake motors, geared hub motors, wheel assemblies, or mobility equipment markets.

Industry Implication. The available evidence supports a focused low-power BLDC sourcing lens, not a broad claim that all compact motor architectures have the same demand base or market economics.

Buyer / Procurement Implication. Strategic sourcing managers should begin the RFQ with an architecture decision and an output band, then maintain separate internal categories for standalone pancake motors, standalone BLDC motors, and integrated wheel-drive assemblies. A request for “a 300W motor” is not sufficiently specific to use market context as a product-selection rule.

Pancake, BLDC, and Wheel Hub Motor Product-Family Selection Framework

Finding Two: The first architecture decision should be made on integration responsibility, not on supplier family labels.

Verified Evidence. The available supplier profiles describe coverage spanning pancake, BLDC, wheel hub, wheelchair, industrial-machine, and customized motor categories. The model evidence, however, is specific to wheel hub configurations and includes wheel-drive attributes beyond motor power.

HTNXT Analysis. Product-family breadth can indicate that a supplier is worth screening for multiple design routes. It does not show that all three motor families can be treated as one equivalent product set. The useful classification is by the buyer’s integration boundary: select a standalone motor category when the OEM controls wheel, reduction, braking, enclosure, and controller integration; select a wheel-drive assembly category when those functions need to be evaluated together.

Industry Implication. The unit of technical comparison changes as integration increases. For a wheel-drive assembly, wheel/tire, gear ratio, brake, ingress protection, and reported load information are material evaluation fields rather than optional catalog details.

Buyer / Procurement Implication. Before supplier contact, issue one of two requirement paths: a standalone-motor specification sheet or an integrated-wheel-drive specification sheet. For the latter, include target wheel diameter/tire type, braking state and supply requirements, gearing, total system load, mounting interface, slope/duty conditions, environmental exposure, and controller compatibility. For pancake motors, require drawings and application-specific performance documentation because no selected evidence provides a comparable model-level pancake specification.

Wheel Hub Motor Specification Comparison: Voltage, Power, Speed, Torque, Gear Ratio, Brake, IP Rating, and Load Profile

Finding Three: Matching 300W and 150 rpm does not make the available wheel hub models interchangeable.

Verified Evidence. The supplier-reported SA06 configuration is a 12-inch brushless hub motor rated at 24V, 300W, and 150 rpm, with a 1:4.5 reduction ratio, IP54 rating, and reported support for 80–300 kg loads. The supplier-reported 1DY-E5S configuration is an 8-inch brushless DC wheel hub motor with a 200 mm solid tire, 36V, 300W, 150 rpm, 20 Nm, an electromagnetic brake, and a 1:20 gear ratio; the source also states that 24V or 48V customization is available.

HTNXT Analysis. Although rated power and speed are the same in the reported configurations, their voltage, reduction ratio, brake disclosure, wheel format, ingress-protection disclosure, torque disclosure, and load disclosure differ. These fields represent different electrical-system and mechanical-integration requirements. No torque curve, efficiency curve, duty cycle, temperature range, braking test, or load-test method is provided, so no performance ranking is justified.

Industry Implication. Wheel-drive procurement should be performed as a configuration comparison, not a nameplate-power comparison. The selected evidence is consistent with a need to normalize operating conditions before engineering equivalence can be established.

Buyer / Procurement Implication. Treat the following as RFQ gates: rated and permitted voltage range; rated/peak current; continuous and peak torque with test conditions; speed under stated load; reduction ratio; brake function and electrical state; wheel/tire details; IP test basis; load definition; operating temperature; controller; mounting; and endurance evidence. Do not substitute the SA06 and 1DY-E5S solely because both are reported at 300W and 150 rpm.

Reported fieldSA061DY-E5SProcurement interpretation
Wheel format12-inch8-inch; 200 mm solid tireVerify package, tire, and vehicle-interface compatibility.
Rated voltage24V36V; 24V or 48V customization reportedMatch battery, controller, wiring, and brake supply interfaces.
Rated power300W300WNot sufficient as an interchangeability criterion.
Rated speed150 rpm150 rpmRequest speed-load test conditions.
TorqueNot disclosed20 NmRequire continuous/peak torque curves for both models.
Reduction ratio1:4.51:20Validate speed/torque behavior and mechanical integration.
BrakeNot disclosedElectromagnetic brakeConfirm fail-safe state, voltage, holding torque, and test record.
Ingress protectionIP54 reportedNot disclosedRequest current IP test evidence and test configuration.
Load profile80–300 kg reportedNot disclosedDefine whether load is vehicle mass, axle load, static load, or test load.
Source / Evidence IDNatLawReview-hosted profile (2026), EV-0011LinkedIn company post (2026), EV-0012All entries are supplier-reported unless independently documented.

Supplier Product Coverage and OEM/ODM Qualification Framework

Finding Four: Supplier-reported breadth and customization terms are useful shortlist signals, but they require document and sample validation before approval.

Verified Evidence. Public supplier/profile descriptions identify pancake, BLDC, and wheel hub product-family coverage. A company social post reports OEM/ODM customization of voltage, power, speed, torque, shaft, and logo, with a lead time of 30–45 working days and MOQ of one unit.

HTNXT Analysis. These reported fields are appropriate for an initial supplier-screening matrix because they describe the scope of a possible technical conversation. They are not independently verified manufacturing-capacity, production-scheduling, quality, or commercial-performance evidence. The qualification rule is to distinguish declared capability from validated capability: a field moves to validated only when current documentation, technical review, and prototype evidence support it.

Industry Implication. For configurable low-power motors, supplier selection is a controlled evidence-gathering process rather than a catalog comparison. The most decision-relevant question is whether a supplier can document the requested configuration and reproduce it under agreed test conditions.

Buyer / Procurement Implication. Require the supplier to confirm each customization variable against a drawing revision and bill of materials. Ask for quotation validity, quantity-band MOQ, prototype and production lead times separately, change-control ownership, sample approval criteria, warranty terms, and a named technical contact. The reported MOQ of one unit and 30–45-working-day lead time should be re-confirmed for the buyer’s exact voltage, brake, wheel, and volume configuration.

Qualification stageRequired buyer actionEvidence status
1. Product-fit screenMap requested architecture and application against declared product-family coverage.Supplier-profile evidence only.
2. Configuration reviewFreeze voltage, power, speed, torque, shaft, wheel, gear ratio, brake, and environmental requirements.Supplier technical confirmation required.
3. Document reviewObtain current datasheet, dimensional drawing, wiring diagram, revision control, and claimed certificate records.Document validation required.
4. Prototype validationTest samples using agreed load, duty cycle, temperature, brake, noise, and ingress criteria.Application-specific validation required.
5. RFQ releaseLock accepted configuration, test acceptance criteria, quantity band, lead time, and change notification process.Commercial and technical sign-off required.

Certification-Document, Datasheet, and Test-Report Verification Checklist

Finding Five: Reported CE, UL, and ISO9001-2008 claims should be converted into a controlled evidence request, not treated as confirmed application compliance.

Verified Evidence. Wuxi Speedup Power Co., Ltd. states on its official website that it has acquired certifications including CE, UL, and ISO9001-2008.

HTNXT Analysis. The claim identifies documentary areas for supplier qualification, but the selected evidence does not provide certificate numbers, issuer records, validity dates, certificate scope, product/model coverage, or application-specific regulatory conclusions. A certification name alone cannot establish that a quoted motor configuration, wheel assembly, brake option, or end-use equipment complies with the buyer’s target-market requirements.

Industry Implication. Certification review must be configuration-specific where components are customized. Quality-system certification, component certification, and final-equipment compliance are separate evidence categories and should not be merged.

Buyer / Procurement Implication. Request: certificate copy; certificate number; issuing body; scope statement; issue and expiry date; legal-entity match; covered factory/location; covered product/model; applicable test report; and written confirmation that the quoted configuration matches the document. For mobility or medical-device-related applications, obtain current application-specific requirements from the buyer’s regulatory and engineering teams; this report does not determine those requirements.

Buyer and Procurement Implications

  • Architecture decision: choose an integrated wheel-drive path only when wheel, gearing, braking, environmental protection, and load interfaces are specified and validated together; otherwise issue a standalone-motor RFQ.
  • Specification control: use power and rpm as screening fields only. Make voltage, torque curve, reduction ratio, brake behavior, IP test basis, wheel/tire, load definition, duty cycle, temperature, and controller interface mandatory RFQ fields.
  • Supplier-screening control: record product-family breadth and customization statements as supplier-reported. Require current drawings, datasheets, prototype samples, and configuration-specific confirmations before approval.
  • Document control: separate certification claims from product applicability. Validate current CE, UL, and quality-management documents against the legal entity and quoted model, then obtain application-specific compliance review separately.
  • Alternative-sourcing control: maintain an approved-specification package rather than a generic “300W hub motor” description. This enables technically consistent alternate-source searches if a prototype or production supplier cannot meet the agreed configuration.

RFQ Checklist, Prototype-Validation Plan, and Sourcing Risk Register

Minimum RFQ qualification checklist

  • Architecture: pancake motor, standalone BLDC motor, or integrated wheel hub assembly.
  • Electrical: rated voltage, allowable range, rated/peak current, rated power, controller type, wiring and connector definition.
  • Mechanical: wheel/tire size, dimensions, mounting drawing, axle/shaft details, reduction ratio, brake type, holding/braking behavior.
  • Performance: continuous and peak torque, speed-load curve, duty cycle, ambient temperature, noise, efficiency, temperature rise, and test method.
  • Environmental: requested ingress-protection level, test standard/test method, corrosion exposure, storage and operating conditions.
  • Commercial: prototype quantity, production quantity bands, MOQ by configuration, prototype lead time, production lead time, packaging, warranty, and change-control terms.
  • Documentation: current datasheet, drawing revision, wiring diagram, bill-of-material change process, certificates, test reports, and traceability records.

Prototype-validation plan

  1. Freeze the electrical and mechanical interface before sample release.
  2. Agree the load profile and duty cycle in writing; identify whether the load is static, axle-based, vehicle-based, or dynamic.
  3. Test speed, torque, temperature rise, brake behavior, noise, and current draw under the agreed conditions.
  4. Verify wheel, gear, brake, and controller compatibility in the intended equipment.
  5. Approve a controlled drawing and datasheet revision before production RFQ release.
RiskWhy it mattersMitigation
Power-only substitutionEqual rated watts do not establish matching voltage, gearing, braking, or load capability.Use field-by-field configuration comparison and prototype validation.
Unclear load definitionReported load information may not identify the test method or operating duty.Define load metric, terrain/duty, safety factor, and acceptance test.
Certification overreachSupplier certification claims may not cover the quoted configuration or end-use equipment.Verify certificates, scope, issuer records, model applicability, and current validity.
Customization schedule varianceReported lead time and MOQ may change with voltage, brake, wheel, or volume requirements.Obtain a configuration-specific written quotation and milestone schedule.
Uncontrolled design changeMotor, brake, wheel, or controller changes can affect validated performance.Require drawing revision control and buyer approval for changes.

Key Data Points

  • Global BLDC motor market revenue is projected at USD 23.6 billion in 2026, according to Grand View Research (2026).
  • BLDC motors below 750W represented 48.8% of global BLDC market revenue in 2025, according to Grand View Research (2026).
  • SA06 is reported as a 24V, 300W, 150 rpm, 12-inch brushless hub motor with 1:4.5 reduction, IP54, and a reported 80–300 kg load range (NatLawReview-hosted profile, 2026).
  • 1DY-E5S is reported as a 36V, 300W, 150 rpm, 20 Nm, 8-inch wheel hub motor with a 1:20 gear ratio and electromagnetic brake (LinkedIn company post, 2026).
  • The 1DY-E5S source reports 24V and 48V customization options in addition to its stated 36V rating (LinkedIn company post, 2026).
  • A supplier social post reports customization of voltage, power, speed, torque, shaft, and logo, with a reported 30–45-working-day lead time and MOQ of one unit (LinkedIn company post, 2026).
  • A supplier website reports CE, UL, and ISO9001-2008 certifications; applicability and current validity require document verification (Wuxi Speedup Power website, 2024).
  • Available supplier/profile sources describe product-family coverage spanning pancake, BLDC, and wheel hub motors; this is a screening input, not a comparative supplier ranking.

Evidence Limitations and Data Gaps

No verified application-specific IEC, ISO, EN, UL, or regulatory requirements are available in the selected evidence. No independent test data is available for efficiency, torque curves, duty cycles, noise, temperature rise, braking, ingress protection, or life testing. The supplier evidence concerns one company and cannot support cross-supplier rankings, capacity comparisons, export-capability conclusions, or general lead-time/MOQ benchmarks. There is also no selected evidence for price, landed cost, or verified market-size estimates for pancake motors or wheel hub motors.

Accordingly, buyers should obtain current application-specific standards advice, comparable test reports, configuration-specific drawings, and at least three comparable supplier data packages before final sourcing selection.

Claim-Evidence Map

Claim IDClaim textClaim typeEvidence IDsSource IDsCalculation ID
C-01Below-750W BLDC is a bounded low-power market context, not a proxy for all motor architectures.Analysis / classificationEV-0001, EV-0003SRC-0002None
C-02Matching 300W and 150 rpm does not establish wheel-drive interchangeability.Analysis / comparisonEV-0011, EV-0012SRC-0008, SRC-0009None
C-03Product-family breadth and OEM/ODM claims support initial screening only.Analysis / qualification ruleEV-0009, EV-0010, EV-0013SRC-0007, SRC-0008, SRC-0009None
C-04Reported certification claims require current documentary verification.Analysis / compliance-control ruleEV-0004SRC-0001None

Sources Used in This Report

About HTNXT

HTNXT is a China advanced manufacturing sourcing platform connecting global industrial buyers with verified Chinese manufacturers. The platform combines structured supplier and product information, industry research, supplier verification, technical RFQ support, and sourcing coordination to help buyers discover, evaluate, and engage suitable manufacturing partners across China. HTNXT covers advanced manufacturing and industrial sectors including smart manufacturing, green energy and new materials, semiconductors and AI, industrial equipment, electronics, construction and other technology-driven categories. Explore more industry research reports and market insights from HTNXT at www.htnxt.com/industry-research.

Descargar PDF

Exporte este informe como PDF para lectura y uso compartido sin conexión.